2014 Award Winners

Cinema Verde is pleased to announce the following awards made to the films shown at the 2014 Environmental Film and Arts Festival:

Audience Choice: Scott Camil Will Not Die; Director: Georg Koszulinski (USA)

Best in Show: The Wisdom to Survive: Climate Change, Capitalism & Community; Directors: John Ankele and Anne Macksoud (USA)

Best Solution: Growing Cities; Director: Dan Susman (USA)

International College Film Competition Winner: As We Grow; Director: Tyler Lee (USA)

Best High School Film: From Farm to Table; Director: Gabrielle Giacomo (USA)

Cinema Verité Award: Bhopali; Director: Van Maximilian Carlson (US/India)

Most Engaging: Who’s Afraid of the Cape Cod Bear?; Director: Maryanne Galvin (USA)

Most Revealing: Terms and Conditions May Apply; Director: Cullen (USA)

Animal Award: Speciesism; Director: Mark Devries (USA)

Earth Award: Trashed; Director: Candida Brady (UK)

Education Award: The Paw Project; Director: Jennifer Conrad (USA)

Energy Award: Do the Math; Produced by 350.org (USA)

Health Award: The Human Experiment; Directors: Dana Nachman and Don Hardy Jr. (USA)

Food Award: GMO OMG; Director: Jeremy Siefert (US/Haiti/Norway)

Local Award: Hungry for Justice: Spotlight on the South; Director: Shellie Rogers (Gainesville, FL USA)

Peace Award: Reactor; Director: Ian MacKenzie (Canada)

Sustainable Business Award: In the Magic of the Green Mountains; Director: Scott Chamberlin Hoyt (USA)

Whistleblower Award: Monsters; Director: Melissa Thompson (USA)

Other 2014 Festival Selections:

Sea the Truth, Directed by Claudine Everaert (The Netherlands)

De Haas in de Marathon (The Pacer in the Marathon), Directed by Joost de Haas (The Netherlands)

Une Philosophie Des Yeux Fermes, Le Corps Comme Reserve Naturelle, Directed by Sacha Kullberg (Belgium)

A Will for the Woods, Directed by Amy Browne (USA)

A Fierce Green Fire: The Battle for a Living Planet, Directed by Mark Kitchell (USA)

Cape Spin!, Directed by Daniel Coffin (USA)

The Atomic States of America, Directed by Don Argott and Sheena M. Joyce (USA)

Gasland II, Directed by Josh Fox (USA)

Reynaldo, Directed by Dan Childs and Nick Werber (UK)

International College Film Competition Winners:

Tailings, Directed by Sam Price-Waldman (Chapman University, USA)

Agua Mala, Directed by Ryan Perez-Hicks (Universidad del Sagrado Corazón, Puerto Rico)

A Simpler Way, Directed by Michael O. Snyder (Frostburg University, USA)

We Are the Land, Directed by Lauren Lindberg (Chapman University, USA)